ciao darling ~ la dolce vita


Friuli Venezia Giulia - Geographical Position

A region of north-east Italy, bordering with Austria to the north and Yugoslavia to the east and south-east, to the south it lies on the Adriatic and borders with Venetia to the west and south-west. Until 1947, this area was known as Venezia Giulia. At the end of the Second World War, it underwent great changes following the transfer of the Fiume and Pola provinces and of wide parts of the areas of Gorizia and Trieste to Yugoslavia.

By the Agreement stipulated in 1954, the `A area' of the Free Territory of Trieste passed to Italian administration, a passage ratified in 1975 by the Treaty of Osimo, which officially recognized the `B area' as part of Yugoslavia.

As regards particular historical events, the problems connected with the new eastern border and its complex ethnical composition, led to Friuli-Venezia Giulia being recognized as an autonomous Province with a special statute.

Luggage OnLine
Accommodation In Italy

Proudly Produced By New Realm
New Realm