ciao darling ~ la dolce vita


Abruzzo This is a region of peninsular Italy stretching between the central Apennines and the Adriatic coast in the area defined by the mouths of the rivers Tronto to the north and Trigno to the south.

Basilicata Basilicata lies in southern Italy. It faces the Gulf of Taranto (Ionian Sea) to the southeast and the Gulf of Policastro (Tyrrhenian Sea) to the southwest and borders with Campania to the west, Puglia to the north and to the northeast and Calabria to the south: its borders, largely conventional, are the result of complex historical events.

Calabria Calabria is the tip of the Italian peninsula; it borders with Basilicata and stretches between the Tyrrhenian Sea and the Ionian Sea in the direction of Sicily, from which it is divided by the Strait of Messina.

Campania Lying on the Tyrrhenian Sea in a sweeping curve between the mouth of the Garigliano and the Gulf of Policastro, Campania is chiefly a maritime region, a transit area and a node for the principal lines of communication which cross the Apennines, linking South Italy with the central-northern regions.

Emilia Romagna This is one of the largest Italian regions (the sixth), an intermediate zone linking the north with the centre of the country, the part of continental Italy joining the Italian peninsula; as such, it is of great importance from the point of view of communications.

Friuli Venezia Giulia A region of north-east Italy, bordering with Austria to the north and Yugoslavia to the east and south-east, to the south it lies on the Adriatic and borders with Venetia to the west and south-west. Until 1947, this area was known as Venezia Giulia.

Lazio Latium (Lazio) is a region in Central Italy, on the Tyrrhenian side of the peninsula, except for a small strip on the Adriatic side. Lying to the west on the Tyrrhenian Sea, this region borders to the north with Tuscany, with Umbria and for a short stretch with the Marches.

Liguria Liguria - The land of the famous Cinque Terre and renowned Portofino is seperated into four provinces, Genova, Imperia, La Spezia, Savona. Genova is the capital.

Lombardia Lombardy covers approximately the centre of the Po Valley, as well as extending over the middle of the Italian Alps. It borders with Switzerland to the north, Emilia-Romagna to the south, Piedmont to the west and Trentino-Alto Adige and Venetia to the east.

Marche The Marches is a region of Central Italy on the Adriatic side of the Umbria-Marches Apennines. Square in shape, its longer sides curve slightly north-east with the huge projection of the peninsula of Mount Conero.

Molise Molise, the youngest Italian region (until 1963 it was part of Abruzzo), lies in central-southern Italy on the Adriatic coastline of the peninsula.

Piemonte Piedmont lies in a peripherical position with respect to the rest of Italy but its relative proximity to the sea and contact with France and Switzerland have, over the centuries, led to the creation of an important commercial transit network which has favoured its present economic development.

Puglia The elongated region of Puglia (Apulia) forms the south-east part of the peninsula, on the Adriatic and Ionian Seas, delimited by Molise to the north-west and by Campania and Basilicata to the west. As far as size and population are concerned, it is the seventh largest region in Italy and its population density is above the national average.

Sardegna Sardinia is the second largest island (23,813 sq. km.) in the Mediterranean (Sicily is larger), and as a result of its isolation, less dependent on insularity than on the distance separating it from mainland Italy, it has conserved its own economy and traditions far more than have other regions.

Sicily Sicily is the largest island (25,426 sq. km.) in the Mediterranean; it is also the most important economically and has the richest heritage of history and art. Its geographical particularity lies in its compact but varied orographical structure, the uniformity of its rivers, the typically Mediterranean climate and the insularity which has helped Sicily to experience homogeneous historical development with originality of custom, art and culture.

Trentino Alto Adige This is the most northerly region in Italy; spreading over the southern side of the Alpine chain, it borders with Switzerland to the north-west, with Austria to the north and with the Italian regions of Lombardy to the south-west and Venetia to the east and south-east. Known as Venetia-Tridentina until the end of the Second World War, it has been an autonomous region with a special Statute since 1948.

Tuscany Tuscany is a charmed land, equally blessed by the genius of man and nature, and often by the combined efforts of both. Think of the vineyards: rows of baby green vines that manage somehow to march in arrow-straight formation up the gently rolling hillsides, bounded by single files of darker green cypress trees, snaking sandy roads leading to rust-colored farmhouses and moss-coated castles, symmetrically rounded hilltops surmounted by towns so homogeneous as to seem one single building.

Umbria The region of Umbria is separated into two provinces. The capital city of Umbria is Perugia. The provinces are, Perugia and Terni.

Situated in the centre of Italy, Umbria is a somewhat small region, the only one in central Italy without a coastline. It belongs to the Tyrrhenian side of the peninsula and borders with the Marches to the north-east and east, with Latium to the south and Tuscany to the west and north-west.

Valle d'Aosta Lying in the upper basin of the Dora Baltea river, it occupies the north-western extremity of Italian territory, bordering with Switzerland (north) and France (west). To the east and south it borders with Piedmont, of which it formed part until 1948, when it became an autonomous region with a special statute. The Valle d'Aosta is the smallest region in the Italian Republic and is also the most thinly populated, with the lowest population density. It is the only region without the territorial and administrative body known as the Province.

Veneto Venetia occupies part of north-eastern Italy: it includes the Venetian plain, a continuation of the Po valley, and a mountainous zone (the Venetian Prealps, parts of the Dolomites and the Carnic Alps). It borders to the north with Austria, to the west with Trentino-Alto Adige and Lombardy, to the south with Lombardy and Emilia-Romagna and to the east the region is limited by Friuli-Venezia Giulia and the Adriatic.

Accommodation In Italy

Proudly Produced By New Realm
New Realm